07.02.2019 change 07.02.2019

The UNA Europa Association of universities established in Kraków

Photo: Fotolia Photo: Fotolia

The UNA Europa Association, which will support the alliance of seven European universities under the same name, was established last week in Kraków. The Jagiellonian University is the leader of the organization.

UNA EUROPA is an alliance of seven European universities formed in 2018. Its members are the Catholic University of Leuven (Belgium); Université Paris 1 (France); Complutense University of Madrid (Spain); Freie Universität Berlin (Germany); University of Edinburgh (UK); University of Bologna (Italy) and the Jagiellonian University.

In addition to signing the association`s foundation act, the rectors of member universities discussed the plans for the future.

According to the press release of the Jagiellonian University, the aim of UNA Europa is to create a truly European university campus, in which scientific research excellence is associated with the transnational education of students, as well as with innovative problem solving and critical thinking.

The members of UNA Europa want to become an "international laboratory where new forms of European cooperation and responses to important social challenges" will emerge. They also focus on innovation - not only in the field of technology, but also education and social problems. (PAP)

Author: Beata Kołodziej

bko/ agt/ kap/

tr. RL

Copyright © Foundation PAP 2019