06.08.2018 change 06.08.2018

Popularizer of Science 2018 on the horizon!

Photo: Fotolia Photo: Fotolia

The 14th edition of the Popularizer of Science contest will start in mid-August. Science promoters will compete for prizes in five categories: Scientist, Animator, Team, Institution and Media. A novelty in the regulations is the possibility of nominating winners of previous editions.

People, teams and institutions awarded in the competition help others better understand the world and are able to interest persons not involved in science in scientific developments.

In this edition of the competition, the jury will select one Grand Prize winner from among all candidates. This most prestigious award in the competition will be granted to the person, team, or institution that promotes science exceptionally creatively and effectively.

This year, winners will be selected in five categories: Scientist, Animator, Team, Institution and Media.

The contest Popularizer of Science has a long tradition. Since 2005, we have granted over 70 awards and more than 40 special mentions. And yet our hundred ten winners do not rest on laurels. We want them to continue to have an opportunity to be awarded for their further activities that we have not yet had the chance to appreciate. That is why we have changed the rules: previous winners can take part in the competition again.

In the new entry, these people should only show the activities that are not related to the previously awarded "Popularizer of Science" title.

Competition entries can be submitted from mid-August to mid-October. Winners will be awarded the title of Popularizer of Science and receive a statuette.

People who have at least a doctoral degree, for example researchers or academic teachers, compete for the award in the Scientist category, which has been the most popular category in the competition for years. Candidates in this category can be scientists who promote science among people unrelated to their field.

The Animator category is for persons who do not hold a doctoral degree or title, for example students and doctoral students, administrative staff of universities, people with no affiliation to scientific institutions.

The award in the Team category is intended for groups of people who promote science together, but not necessarily identify themselves with a specific institution. They can be, for example, people who jointly carry out popular science projects, or teams operating outside the administrative boundaries of scientific institutions. They can also be groups of friends or Internet users who jointly promote science, or science clubs.

The Institution category was created for scientific institutions, non-scientific organizations and enterprises. Research institutes, university units, consortia, non-governmental organizations, science centres and private companies can present their science promotion achievements in this category.

The award in the Media category may be given to journalists, the media, editors, as well as internet users who create popular science content: bloggers, fanpage and web page teams.

Candidates can enter the competition themselves, and in the case of institutions or teams - through their representatives. But that`s not all: anyone can nominate a candidate (with the candidate`s consent). Entry form will be published in mid-August on PAP - Science in Poland.

Candidates will be evaluated by the jury composed of science promoters, representatives of the scientific community, the Ministry of Science and Higher Education and PAP - Science and Scholarship in Poland.

Like every year, the editorial team of PAP - Science and Scholarship in Poland will additionally grant special Tomasz Trzciński Award for benchmark information policy. Candidates in this category are not accepted; the winner will be selected by the editorial team.

The competition "Popularizer of Science", organised since 2005, is the oldest and most prestigious competition in Poland, which awards scholars, media people, institutions and social activists, whose passion is to share knowledge and uncover the mysteries of modern science in a manner accessible to everyone .

Previous winners of the competition include: philosopher of nature Fr. Prof. Michał Heller, neuroscientist Prof. Jerzy Vetulani, author of popular science television programs Ed. Wiktor Niedzicki, journalist Tomasz Rożek, promoter of astronomy Karol Wójcicki, authors of the website "Nauka o klimacie", as well as institutions such as the Copernicus Science Centre, Polish Academy of Kids and the Nencki Institute of Experimental Biology.

PAP - Science in Poland

lt/ zan/ kap/

tr. RL

Copyright © Foundation PAP 2019