27.04.2018 change 27.04.2018

Informatics students from the University of Warsaw earn the title of 2018 European Champions in the ACM ICPC

Photo: Fotolia Photo: Fotolia

The team from the University of Warsaw took 14th place in the ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (ACM ICPC) in Beijing. As the best team from the European region, they received the title of European Champions. The team from the Moscow State University won the competition.

The 140 teams that participated in this year`s ACM ICPC World Finals emerged from regional ICPC competitions, in which 49,935 contestants from 3,089 universities in 111 countries competed, the University of Warsaw reports on its website.

The University of Warsaw was represented by Informatics students: Kamil Dębowski, Mateusz Radecki and Marek Sommer. They solved six out of eleven problems prepared by the competition organizers. 14th place was also the first non-medal place and the best result among all the countries of the European region, awarded by the organizers with the title of the European Champions.

The coaches of the University of Warsaw team are professors Jan Madey and Krzysztof Diks, who work at the Faculty of Mathematics, Informatics and Mechanics. During this year`s competition in Beijing Prof. Diks received the Lifetime Coach Award. The distinction was awarded by the ICPC Foundation for bringing the UW teams to the competition finals 20 times.

ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) is organized by the Association for Computing Machinery, an association of IT professionals, both practitioners and theorists. It is the oldest, most prestigious and largest in terms of number of participants event of this type. University teams from around the world participate in the competition. Finalists are selected in the regional qualifiers held on all inhabited continents.

Teams of students at the University of Warsaw advance to the ACM ICPC finals every year since 1994. Polish teams won the competition twice, in 2003 in Beverly Hills (USA) and in 2007 in Tokyo (Japan). Both times the winners were Informatics students from the University of Warsaw

PAP - Science in Poland

ekr/ agt/ kap/

tr. RL

Copyright © Foundation PAP 2020